Radius Health Inc

Scientific Advisory Board

  • John Katzenellenbogen, PhD is a Founder of Radius and is the Swanlund Professor of Chemistry at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Dr. Katzenellenbogen's research is focused on aspects of the structure, function, and use of steroid receptors. He has prepared and evaluated receptor ligands having novel structures and activities and developed radiolabeled steroids for imaging receptor-positive tumors of the breast and prostate by positron emission tomography. More recently, Dr. Katzenellenbogen has initiated biochemical and biophysical studies on the dynamics of the estrogen receptors and their interaction with coregulator proteins. Dr. Katzenellenbogen is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He has given numerous named lecture presentations and received three NIH MERIT awards, the Paul C. Aebersold Award from the Society of Nuclear Medicine, and a Cope Scholar Award from the American Chemical Society. Dr. Katzenellenbogen conducted graduate studies with Professor E.J. Corey at Harvard University and received a PhD from Harvard University.

  • Dr. Lyttle has served as Chairman of the Radius Scientific Advisory Board since June 2012. He previously served as President and CEO of Radius from September 2004 to December 2011 and interim Chief Scientific Officer from December 2011 to June 2012.  Dr. Lyttle served as Executive Chairman of Karos Pharmaceuticals from July 2010 to November 2013. Previously, he was Vice President of Discovery for Women's Health and Bone as well as Head of the Women's Health Research Institute at Wyeth. At Wyeth, he directed drug discovery in women's health for several areas including menopause, contraception, reproductive disorders, osteoarthritis, osteoporosis, and urinary incontinence. Under his leadership, Wyeth advanced 17 new product candidates into preclinical and clinical development, including the SERM, bazedoxifene; Tanaproget, a novel non-steroidal contraceptive; and DVS-233 for vasomotor symptoms associated with menopause. Prior to joining Wyeth, Dr. Lyttle was Research Professor of Obstetrics, Gynecology, and Pharmacology at the University of Pennsylvania. He received a PhD in Biochemistry from Queen's University, Kingston, Ontario, followed by postdoctoral research at the Population Council at the Rockefeller University, and the University of Chicago.

  • Stavros Manolagas, MD, PhD, is a Founder of Radius and is Professor of Medicine and Director of the Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS); Director of the UAMS/VA Center for Osteoporosis and Metabolic Bone Disease; and Chief of the Section of Endocrinology in the Central Arkansas Veterans Healthcare System. Dr. Manolagas's research interests include vitamin D metabolism; the interplay among hormones, cytokines, the hematopoietic/immune system and bone; cellular and molecular mechanisms of the pathogenesis of osteoporosis due to estrogen or androgen deficiency, old age, and glucocorticoid excess; mechanism of steroid hormone-receptor action; and the discovery of anabolic bone therapies. Previous positions include Professor of Medicine as well as Chief of the Section of Endocrinology and Metabolism in the Indianapolis VA Medical Center at Indiana University, and Associate Professor of Medicine in Residence at the University of California in San Diego. His honors and awards include the UAMS Dean's Distinguished Faculty Lecturer award, 2001; the inaugural Founders Award (Louis V. Avioli Award) of the American Society of Bone and Mineral Research, 2000; the 1999 AlliedSignal award for research on aging; and induction into the Association of American Physicians in 1996. Dr. Manolagas received an MD from the University of Athens Medical School and a PhD from the University of Manchester, England.

  • John Potts, MD, DSc, is a Founder of Radius and is the Jackson Distinguished Professor of Clinical Medicine at the Massachusetts General Hospital (MGH) and Harvard Medical School. An internationally recognized authority on calcium metabolism and the hormonal mechanisms that govern it, Dr. Potts has been a pioneer in the chemistry and biology of parathyroid hormone (PTH) and its role in clinical disorders of bone and mineral ion metabolism. His research interests focus on calcium and bone metabolism and PTH; his clinical work is on disorders of calcium metabolism and osteoporosis. Previously, Dr. Potts served as Director of Research, as Chairman of the Department of Medicine and Physician-in-Chief, and as Chief of the Endocrine Unit at MGH. Previous to that, he conducted research on protein chemistry at the National Institutes of Health with Nobel laureate Christian Anfinsen. His honors and awards include the Association of Professors of Medicine's Robert H. Williams, MD, Distinguished Chair of Medicine Award (2002); the Biomedical Science Career Program Hope Award (2001); the Endocrine Society's Fred Konrad Koch Award (1991); and the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research's William F. Neumann Award (1987). He holds active and honorary memberships in a number of scientific and professional organizations including the Institute of Medicine and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and is an elected member of the National Academy of Sciences. He received an MD from the University of Pennsylvania.

  • Michael Rosenblatt, M.D. currently serves as Executive Vice President and Chief Medical Officer for Merck & Co. Prior to joining Merck in 2009, he was Dean of Tufts University School of Medicine. Before that, he was the George R. Minot Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School 1998-2003. Dr. Rosenblatt has also served as Chief of the Division of Bone and Mineral Metabolism Research at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Harvard faculty dean, senior vice president for Academic Programs at CareGroup and Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, and Director of the Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology. Previously, Dr. Rosenblatt was Senior Vice President of Research and Vice President of Biological Research for Merck.